A New Direction

lisa

by Lisa Hathaway, Museum Intern

Hi everyone! I would like to introduce myself: my name is Lisa Hathaway and I’m a student at Mt San Jacinto College. I’m fortunate enough to be part of such a wonderful project conducting research on hominin fossils.

I have been a student at MSJC for the past two and a half years. When I started at the college I was working full time and raising my little girl Sabryn, who is now seven years old. I started with nursing as my major, but then I was introduced to Cultural Anthropology and Professor Pam Ford. After that, nursing went out the door! I liked it, but not the same way as anthropology. It makes me spark like a kid in a candy store – it’s exciting and fun and I really love it.

Did I say that I really love it?

It’s been such a wonderful journey and learning process. I enjoy meeting people and learning about different cultures. I’m originally from the Caribbean; Trinidad and Tobago to be exact. It’s a cosmopolitan population so I can appreciate everyone and the unique qualities that they have to offer. I have lived in several different places and states and enjoy learning. The San Jacinto Valley has been our home for almost four years and I have met many wonderful people here.

As a child I always loved going to the museums in New York. That was always one of my favorite past times. I have great memories going there with my mom, aunt, and my brother Nick. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would have such a wonderful opportunity to be part of this project! I am learning so much and I am enjoying every moment. Last month we had the opportunity to see some of the casts that were ordered and they were so awesome. I hope everyone follows and enjoys this journey with us.

Leave a Reply

